1. What is Digitary?

Digitary:

  • is the on-line solution used by the Teaching Council to allow teachers view and share their vetting disclosure (vetting result document) electronically with current and prospective school employers;
  • replaces the Teaching Council’s vetting result letter which teachers were previously required to present to school employers;
  • allows the sharing of vetting disclosures to schools/employers and therefore fulfils the requirements of the National Vetting Bureau (Children and Vulnerable Persons) Acts 2012 to 2016.

Vetting disclosures will be made available electronically by the Teaching Council through the Digitary solution. This enables school employers to fulfill the requirements of Section 12 of the National Vetting Bureau (Children and Vulnerable Persons) Acts 2012 to 2016.

School management authorities have been notified by way of Department of Education and Skills Circular 0031/2016 that teacher vetting disclosures will be made available electronically by the Teaching Council.

2. I cannot login to Digitary – what do I need to do?

The Teaching Council notified you by email when your vetting disclosure became available. If you still have this email you can follow the embedded link to the login page. At the login page you will need to enter your email address and password to access Digitary and your documents. If you do not have the original email, please contact the Teaching Council on vetting@teachingcouncil.ie and request that the email be re-issued.

3. How do I view my document(s)?

Once you login to Digitary you will be brought to the “Documents” page where you will see your document named My Document 1. Here you will see a link called “View” (displayed below with red circle). Click on this link to view your document. From this section you may wish to rename your document

Digitary 1

4. How do I rename a document?

Once you have clicked on “view” to open your document you can rename from the Document Information section. You will see that the document name My Document 1 is the blue link as highlighted below. Click on this link and type in the name you wish to call the document and then click on the √ to save, for example, Vetting June 2016 (Lisa Murtagh).

Digitary 3

5. Can I download or print my document?

Once you have viewed your document you have the facility to download and save it locally. At the top of the document you will see a number of icons. Click on the second icon on the left hand side (as highlighted with the red circle in the screenshot below) and save accordingly. Having saved it locally you can then print your document.

 Digitary 4

6. How long are my documents valid?

Your vetting disclosure will be valid until you are required to be re-vetted by the Teaching Council or a school/employer and your updated disclosure has been uploaded to Digitary. You will only have one vetting disclosure displayed on Digitary.

7. How do I share my document with my employer or another third party?

The Digitary system enables teachers to create document shares, which are secure and unique links that point to your document(s).

Once you login to Digitary you will be brought to the “Documents” page where you will see your document named My Document 1 (or the renamed document if you have chosen to rename it). Here you will see a link called “Share” (displayed below with red circle).

Digitary 5

Following this link you can share your document online using the email address of the person whom you wish to share your document with. When sharing a document you can further control access by allocating a unique PIN number and expiry date. See screenshot below.

Digitary 6

8. Will all school employers accept documents shared via Digitary?

School managements have been notified by way of Department of Education and Skills Circular 0031/2016 that teacher vetting disclosures will only be made available on-line. Where a school management is not in a position to view a teacher’s vetting disclosure on-line an alternative arrangement will be considered. The teacher should contact the Vetting Section of the Teaching Council by emailing vetting@teachingcouncil.ie .

9. Can I view a history of the documents I’ve shared?

Once you login to Digitary you will see a menu on the left-hand side. The menu item named “Sharing” will give details of each of the “Shares” that you have created.

10. Can I revoke/cancel a Share that I have activated?

Yes. Login to Digitary and click on the "Sharing" menu tab on the left-hand side.  This will display all of the "Shares" that you have created. Locate the "Share" you wish to cancel and click on the "Disable" button.