New Chairperson Elected to The Teaching Council

The Teaching Council is pleased to announce that at its meeting yesterday (27 November) Ms. Noelle Moran was elected as Chairperson. Ms Moran is a nominee of the Association of Secondary Teachers Ireland (ASTI), and succeeds Mr. Gerry  Quinn. She has been a member of the Council since April 2016.

 From Tuam, Co Galway, Ms. Moran is a teacher of Gaeilge and Accounting at St. Jarlath’s College.

 She is also a member of ASTI’s Standing Committee and Central Executive Council.

 Following her election as Chairperson, Noelle commented that she was deeply honoured and promised to bring energy and commitment to her new role.  

 She thanked the Council for entrusting her to work in this role. Noelle further stated that she looked forward to working as Chairperson of Council with the Director, staff and the other 36 members of Council in the interests of teachers and education in the promotion and regulation of the profession. 

 The members of the Council and the Director wished Noelle the very best in her new role.

Noelle Moran

Ms. Noelle Moran